Black-Eyed Susan Vine

Black Eyed Susan Vine

My family gave me this plant, a Black-Eyed Susan Vine, for Mother’s Day this year.  I had never heard of it before, but was impressed by the pretty yellow flowers.  I’ve had regular Black-Eyed Susans before, but the only thing they have in common is the color.  The flowers on this vine are much different, having only 5 flat petals, and a dark hole in the center.    My plant came in a pot, and was about 2 feet tall.  I read on-line that it can be invasive, so I left it in the pot and installed some strings from its little trellis up to my porch roof, in a mostly sunny spot. Since being planted in May,this vine has grown about 10 feet up to the roof, and there are loose vines hanging several feet off the top.  Flowers have covered it continually since being planted, and even though it is getting cool now, it is still blooming.  Other than water, I have not given it any special care.

Black-Eyed Susan VineDoing a little research on Black-Eyed Susan Vine, I learned that it is officially called Thunbergia, and this variety is Alata.  I am told it is easy to start from seed, and is a perennial in the warmer states.  I have not seen any seeds on this plant, though they apparently don’t appear until it is almost done blooming in the fall.  It is possible to collect the seeds, but not every flower produces a seed.  Even if my attempt to save the seeds fails, I definitely intend to have this beautiful vine in my garden next summer.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Black-Eyed Susan Vine”

  1. Susan Cornwall Says:

    I am looking for a plant that resembles a black eyed susan that I got at a plant exchange. It grew to about 4 1/2 to 5 feet tall, and had large, like a small saucer, flowers. They looked like black eyed susans. However, I planted them in 3 different places and the next year none of them came back. No one seems to know what they are.

Leave a Reply

