Unknown Flower

Back in the olden days when I had a film camera, I used to take pictures of flowers, but not like I do now. It cost a lot of money to buy film and get it developed, and there was no guarantee that the pictures would even look good. I’ve had a digital camera for almost 10 years, and it has certainly changed the way I take pictures. Rather than take one and hope it is good, I take 2, or 3, or 10. Chances are at least one of them will be okay, and it’s easy to delete the others. Flowers are one of my favorite subjects, they don’t make faces or have red eyes or run away. Over the years, I have printed many flower photos, enough to fill 2 scrapbooks. These days, I mostly just store them on my computer.

I like to think that I recognize a lot of flowers, but there are many, many more that are not familiar. Visiting gardens and zoos, I come across unknown flowers, take pictures of them, and then forget what they are. Most gardens have signs identifying the plants, and sometimes I remember to take photos of the sign too. But, more often than not, I end up with unknown flower photos. I have a large number of plant books, but paging through them gets rather tedious. The internet is a big help, but it usually helps to have at least some clue what you are searching for. For this blog today, I am going to post some of my unknown flowers and hope that someone out there will recognize them. If you do, leave a comment and let me know what it is. I can’t offer any prizes, but I will be grateful for your help.

Thanks to those who have helped identify some of these plants! Here are what we have mostly agreed on so far:

1. Rudbeckia
2. Bougainvillea
3. Mallow? Hibiscus?
4. Coreopsis
5. Mallow
6. Sedum?
7. Calendula? Daisy?
8. Verbena
9. Pachystachys lutea, yellow shrimp plant
10. Teasel

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “Unknown Flower”

  1. Kem Says:

    You know this is going to bug me now too! LOL! I think #10 is called teasel and #8 might (big might) be a mallow. Where were they taken?

  2. margaretsgarden Says:

    I’m not sure about #8, but I think #10 was at the garden at MSU.

  3. Kem Says:

    Teasel grows wild in MI, so that would make sense. There’s lots of it along roadsides out here.

  4. Hannah M Julich Says:

    #3 looks to me to be some sort of hibiscus. It can be hard to tell without a picture of the leaves too.

  5. Dana H Says:

    1 = rudbeckia
    2 = poinsettia
    3 = hibiscus
    4 = coreopsis
    5 = mallow
    6 = sedum
    7 = daisy
    8 = verbena
    10 = teasel

    These are my best guesses, so let me know if I’m off track!

    • margaretsgarden Says:

      Thank you for your input! I agree with you on 1. Rudbeckia 4. Coreopsis 5. Mallow 8. Verbena and 10. Teasel. I’m not convinced on the others. The more I look at it, I think 7 may be a calendula, and 3 may be some type of mallow. I also found out that 9 is a yellow shrimp plant, pachystachys lutea.

  6. judith Says:

    Number 2 is bougainvillae .

Leave a Reply

